IMG_1020

A few nights ago, I had a very vivid dream that my alarm clock was about to go off. There was an angst at that moment in my sleep as I dreamed my slumber was about to be disturbed.

And then it was disturbed. My alarm actually chirped. I woke up and groggily wondered, “Did I dream that or did it really happen?” As Bill, or was it Ted said, “Strange things are afoot at the Circle K.” Weird very weird.

But it was all good. The word dream almost always has a positive connotation. Be it in speeches, “I have a dream.” Or in the middle of a song, “You may say I’m a dreamer. But I’m not the only one.” Or as a valediction before bedtime, “Good night, sweet dreams, sleep tight.”

I know what you’re thinking. “Aren’t there bad dreams?”

Yes there are and THOSE are called Nightmares. Dreams are good. Please in this crazy world, let something be good. Dreams are good. They give us something to vision, something to strive for, something to hold on to.

If it’s a bad dream it’s a nightmare. Not a dream. Dreams are good.

There are so many songs that sing to the topic of Dreams. In fact, a song titled simply, “Dreams” has been recorded by at least five artists; Fleetwood Mac, Van Halen, The Cranberries, The Allman Brothers and Beck. And they’re ALL different songs. The Imagine Dragons had a solitary “Dream” for a song title as well.

According to an extensive study published by the Liverpool Review in 2014, after reviewing every song released since 1955, it turns out songs with dreams as the theme are the third most popular song topic of all time, surpassed only by songs about love and songs that sing of dance.

Did you buy that? I totally made that up. In this election year, we all love a little fabrication, don’t we? “Lord what fools mortals be.”

I will share a little verse about dreams that was a part of a Wedwand post from 2014. As I read the post again, it’s sort of a bizarre Shakespearean induced tale of Midsummer Night’s Dreams. (See Footnote for the link to the full text.) Here it is:

“All I Have To Do is Dream Dream Dream. Be it California Dreaming or a Daydream Believer, Sweet Dreams are made of these, who am I to disagree? Dream On.

I don’t need a Dream Weaver to tell me I Can Dream About You IF You Dream A Little Dream of Me. Now you may say, I Had Too Much to Dream (Last Night), or Last Night I Had the Strangest Dream, but These Dreams go on when I close my eyes. Have you any Dreams you’d like to sell?

In the meantime, the Dream Police are Running Down a Dream, a Teenage Dream, from Dreamboat Annie on the Boulevard of Broken Dreams.”

Wedwand leaves you with this number by an Australian duo called Empire Of The Sun called “Walking on a Dream” (Maybe you heard it in a Honda Civic ad when you were dreaming of buying that new car):

FOOTNOTE:
Here’s the 2014 Midsummers Night link:
https://wedwand.wordpress.com/2014/07/16/midsummer-already/

And here’s a more recent Wedwand post on Dreams:
https://wedwand.wordpress.com/2016/03/16/a-stream-of-dreams/

