GE DIGITAL CAMERA
Sometimes, I think I’ve listened to too many songs by the Rolling Stones in my life, if that’s possible.

Why just last week I broke a glass, it hit the floor and shattered. My first thought was “Sha doo bee, shattered shattered.” Sure my first thought should have been to clean up the mess, which I ultimately did singing random choruses of the song to myself.

In the process, I cut my finger on some glass and sang as I let it bleed, “To live in this town, you must be tough tough tough tough tough.”

A friend recently got married in Memphis. I perused the 176 pictures that were posted, give or take 150. Not one picture of a gin-soaked bar room queen. At a wedding no less. “Give me give me give me the Honky Tonk Blues.” (This also HAS to be one of the top 3 cowbell songs of all time.)

My lawn mower was giving me a fight. I cranked that thing about ten times then suddenly varoom, she fired up. I started singing, “Start me up. Once you start me up I never stop.”

My wife has a friend who we see from time to time. When we get together, she says, “Hey.” I say “Hey.” She says “You.” I say “You.” We say together, “Get off of my cloud.”

The lyrics go on:

“When I’m driving in car and a man comes on the radio telling me more and more….”
“I’ve been walking Central Park, singing after dark. People think I’m craaazy…Ooo I miss you baby.”
“I see a red door and I want it painted black.”
“Wild horses, couldn’t drag me away.”
“Dandelions don’t tell no lies.”

Then there’s some Stones songs you just mumbled over the years , cause you didn’t know the lyrics and not even Mick really knows the all the words.

I was shocked when I first realized it wasn’t Jo Jo Slade who found the cotton fields, but a gold coast slave.

And tell me you know ALL the words to Jumping Jack Flash. Before there were lyric sites, we sang God knows what to these actual words from the song:

“And I howled at my ma in the pouring rain.”
“I was raised by a toothless bearded hag”
“I frowned at the crumbs of a crust of bread.“

But it’s alright, in fact it’s a gas.

I can’t believe these guys have been rocking since 1962 and they’re still doing it.

I leave you with my favorite Rolling Stones song lyric. While surrounded by darkness in the rest of the song (which I choose to ignore), the refrain is a hopeful wish that I wish for all of you. Oddly, while a benediction of sorts, you likely won’t hear this at church.

“May the Good Lord shine a light on you. Make every song you sing you’re favorite tune. May the Good Lord shine a light on you. Warm, like the evening sun.”

