GE DIGITAL CAMERA
Just this evening, I was out for a walk and about to cross the street when a car approached the intersection. The driver stopped and waved me on. Hmm, I wondered. Are there ulterior motives?

While he did have a stop sign and according to the Rules of the Road was indeed required to stop and yield, two thoughts passed through my mind.

1) Alas, there remains a courteous person in the world willing to defer to a poor pedestrian soul who attempts to cross the street.

2) Is this dude is setting me up for the hit and run. It’s a crazy world out there these days. One never knows.

In this instance, I opted to trust the driver and ventured into the crosswalk. Fortunately, it was number one, a chivalrous driver did indeed exist out there. I began to cross the street unharmed.

Now in such situations, I do something called the “courtesy walk.” Here’s how it goes. After you are reasonable confident the driver does not intend to pick you off in the crosswalk, you:

1) Smile and nod and proceed to cross.

2) Give a friendly wave and while that arm is coming down, you begin to swing it in an animated fashion while your other arm starts making the same running motion. Try to give it a three second trot. This lets the driver know you have acknowledged his magnanimous gesture and wish to impose no extra time on his commute.

You don’t even have to really move any faster. Sometimes, I just move my arms up and down in that animated running motion as I cross the walk while not actually moving any faster. This casts the illusion that I am moving quicker for the consideration extended, while not actually picking up the pace.

It’s somewhat akin to the courtesy wave you give a driver when he lets you merge into his lane when an unforeseen construction lane closure approaches. Please tell me you do the courtesy wave. It’s the least you can do. I get annoyed when I let a car into the lane in front of me and the driver skips the courtesy wave. Everyone please give the courtesy wave.

(Speaking of courtesy, when you are in a multiple stalled bathroom and well, without getting too graphic. just give the toilet a courtesy flush after your masterpiece in consideration of others in the room. It’s the right thing to do.)

But, back to the courtesy walk. If any of you loyal readers recognize this theme, it was my very first post on Wedwand back on April 10, 2013, some 210 posts and 6,503 views ago.

Today, I had no ideas for a post, but coincidentally, I was the driver in the car this time, and not once but twice I let a pedestrian cross my path and each time, they did a version of the courtesy walk. And, I thought to myself, hey, maybe I invented that.

So like so many music pieces and movies, I decided to digitally remaster my original post. OK, it is simply revised and not remastered and it’s not digital at all. But I will include the original cover photo from that April day in Antioch near my sister’s house where Wedwand was born.

I appreciate your support over these nearly three years of uninterrupted posts. I’d like to thank my mother who has since passed for being a driving inspiration to pursue this venture. Sometimes, I wonder why I do it, but if Wedwand brings a smile to your face or invokes a thought or just makes you forget about your daily cares and worries for a while, then my mission is accomplished.

