IMG_0896
The band Chicago will be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame this year, 2016. Why it took so long, I do not know. They’ve been around since 1967, had 25 or 6 to 4 top ten singles on the hit parade, FIVE consecutive number 1 albums from 1972 through 1975 but they were first voted into the Hall this year, 2016.

Not to try and invalidate the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, but it does seem they have a weird selection process. The Shirelles and Little Willie John were inducted into the R&R Hall twenty years ago in 1996.

And Chicago is not in this thing until 2016?

Besides, the Shirelles are an R&B girl group and I am going to take a wild shot in the dark here, but I would guess Little Willie John is a Blues singer. OK, I looked it up. Little Willie John is NOT a Blues singer, but rather an R&B artist as well who had the smash hit “Leave My Kitten Alone” that climbed all the way to #13 on the charts in 1959. Yep LWJ has been in the R&R HOF twenty years and Chicago is first going in this year.

I know what you’re thinking. “But, The Shirelles are great.” Huh? Maybe, BUT, name me ONE Shirelle. C’mon now, name me ONE Shirelle. I really don’t mean to smack down on the Shirelles and maybe you consider them to be Rock and Roll icons, but really, the Shirelles elected to the ROCK AND ROLL Hall of Fame TWENTY years before Chicago?

(Just in case you are curious, Cindy Birdsong is in the Shirelles.) I lied. Birdsong was a Supreme and if just for a second you believed her to be a Shirelle, HAH, gotcha.

Anyhow, “Take Me Back To Chicago.”

Like many other bands, the original lineup of the band is no longer intact either due to tragic deaths or defections. However, many bands have buried the hatchet and for just one night united together to sing a song or two at the HOF Induction Ceremony to please their fans. The Band reunited, the remaining members of Nivana reunited, even The Eagles reunited just for the induction Ceremony

Unlike other inductees, sadly, the most recent news I’ve heard today is that the remainder of the band Chicago will not reunite for the obligatory induction live performance this year even though that once appeared likely. Why? Because Peter Cetera and the others in the band cannot agree on 1) the song to be played and 2) the key the song is to be played in.

These are the quotes I read in Billboard today:

Peter Cetera: “Unfortunately this scenario doesn’t work for me. I know we all did our best to make it happen, but I guess it’s just not meant to be….Have a great show and please send any individual award I receive to the contact you have for me.”

As for the Rest of the members of Chicago, according to Billboard: “Despite the turmoil, Robert Lamm said he and remaining co-founders Lee Loughnane, James Pankow and Walter Parazaider are looking forward to the festivities.”

You decide the reason for the rift. Perhaps it is all in Cetera’s quote that says essentially … it doesn’t work for me, but don’t forget to send me my award.

Geez guys, throw four sheets of paper in a hat. One says “Make Me Smile” one says “Color My World” one says “Saturday In the Park” one says “If You Leave Me Now”. Pick two and play them.

But, maybe that’s the way it is meant to be. Nobody asked Leonardo da Vinci to paint the Mona Lisa again before his painting was hung at the Louvre. Nobody asked Randy Johnson to throw a 97 MPH fastball when he was inducted into the Baseball HOF last year.

Maybe we are to just meant to enjoy the past achievements of the musical performing artists just the way they were as originally recorded. Maybe not.

When The Eagles were honored at their R&R HOF Induction, the recently departed, Glenn Frey said in 1998, when the Eagles put aside their differences to all reunite, even if only for one night, “What’s going on tonight is a lot bigger than any of the individuals on stage.”

Apparently, Cetera’s lyrics remain true, “Hard To Say I’m Sorry.” Surely the rest of the band Chicago won’t be singing “Wishing You Were Here.”

FOOTNOTE: Apologies to the Little Willie John, who’s most famous #1 hit was “Fever” reached #1 on the R&B charts in 1956 and to the Shirelles, Addie “Micki” Harris, Shirley Owens, Beverly Lee, and Doris Coley. Their #1 hits were “Will You Love Me Tomorrow” in 1960 and “Soldier Boy” in 1961.

