IMG_0290Well, 16 days until Christmas and I’m still not feeling it yet.

I tried to get “child-like” to appreciate it more and got carried back to the Christmas concerts we sang in Grade School.

The first time we rehearsed “Little Drummer Boy” in 7th grade we couldn’t stop giggling. See, the girls got to sing the pretty parts in softly melodic voices, “Come they told me Pa rum pum pum pum…”

But, the boys had the background part. Our job was to replicate the sound of the drum. The first verse for the boys went “Prum Prum Prum Prum. Prum Prum Prum Prum” over and over again. That started the giggles. It was by the third verse when we had to sing, “Puddle dee pum, puddle dee pum, puddle dee pum, puddle dee pum” over and over again that put adolescent boys into a full fledge laughing out loud mode. Our director, Mr. Goeglein simply frowned at us.

So, then we started making up words for the other carols cause we were giddy by then already.

We Three Kings of Orient are
Tried to smoke a rubber cigar
It was loaded and exploded
Now WE’RE on yonder star.

And then we would laugh hysterically as we sang,

Deck the Halls with Poison Ivy
Fa la la la la la la la la

One day, coming home from rehearsal with my dad driving in the car, the radio starts to play, “Winter Wonderland.” You know the song:

Sleigh Bells ring, are you listening,
In the lane snow is glistening
A beautiful sight
We’re happy tonight …

And then my dad sings, “Walking in our winter underwear.”

The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree.

Apparently these shenanigans run well into the college years. I happened across this song which is a rather witty spin on “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen.” It’s only a minute 16 seconds give it a listen (1):

And then there’s the classic version of “The 12 Days of Christmas” from Straight No Chaser out of the University of Indiana:

Oddly, I’m starting to feel that Good Old Christmas spirit after writing this. So watch what you smoke and stay away from the poison ivy this season as you go walking in your winter underwear.

FOOTNOTE:
(1) In case you are reluctant to click on a link, I have printed the lyrics here. Be assured though, that every link Wedwand posts has been pre-tested by our quality control staff and as best as we can tell, they are safe.

The restroom door said gentleman so I just walked inside,
I took two steps and realized I’ve been taken for a ride.
I heard high voices, turned and found the place was occupied,
By two nuns, three old ladies and a nurse.
What could be worse?
Than two nuns, three old ladies and a nurse.

The restroom door said gentleman it must have been a gag,
As soon as I walked in there I ran into some old hag.
She sprayed me with a can of mace and smacked me with her bag,
I could tell, this wouldn’t be my day.
What can I say?
It just wasn’t turning out to be my day.

The restroom door said gentleman and I’d would like to find,
The crummy little creep who had the nerve to switch the signs.
‘Cause I got two black eyes and one high heel up my behind,
Now I can’t, sit with comfort and joy.
Boy oh boy.
Now I’ll never sit with comfort and joy.

