IMG_2222
Hey Joe Hey Jude Hay Ya Hey You
Get off of my cloud. Hey Yeah! Hey Hey Hey that’s what I say.
Hey hey hey, what you say, Sherry Darlin’
Ain’t talkin bout love, hey hey hey hey, so now we got Bad Blood, Hey.

Hey 19, Hey Good Lookin’, Hey There Delilah, Hey Baby will you be my girl?
Hey Tonight Hey Bartender Cuervo Gold. So hey, I’m getting drunk on a plane.

Hey Little Cobra, Hey Bulldog, Hey Hey We’re the Monkees
Hey Ho, but not you Heigh-ho, so off to work you go.

Hey Soul Sister Hey Big Brother Hey Mickey, you’re so fine,
My My Hey Hey, Rock and Roll is here to stay but for now,
Nana Na Na Hey Hey Hey, Good bye.

So the music world loves the word “hey“ as exemplified in the 26 or so songs referenced in the above verses authored by the Bard of Wedwand.

“Hey” is the exclamation point on a song. It doesn’t matter if “hey” starts the song or if it is strategically interjected. “Hey” is the one word we know when we know no others in a sing-along. In fact, Rock and Roll Part 2, a 1972 song by Gary Glitter, contains only one word in its three minutes and two seconds of guitar and drum mania. Yet, it’s a favorite in the stadium crowds. Why? Cause everyone knows the word and can sing along.

If you want to play a fun game on your drive home from work, click the station buttons and see how many songs have the word “hey” in them. In my half hour commute tonight, I found four. One every 7.5 minutes. It helps relieve the boredom, and hey, it might make a heavy traffic day a little less frustrating.

FOOTNOTE:

In case you haven’t guessed it already, this week’s cover photo with three bells of hay is named, “Hay Hay Hay” … that’s what I say. Thanks for reading Songs and Music (SAM) this 2nd Wednesday.

