IMG_1342

What do you say?
What does it matter?

Happy Holidays
Happy Hanukkah
Happy Christmas
Merry Christmas
Kwanza Greetings
Fantastic Festivus
Happy Birthday

It seems to me that too many people are looking for ways to be offended by a simple gesture of good cheer.

I don’t know what you celebrate or don’t and I surely don’t want to take the time necessarily to learn in every chance encounter I have along the way.

But I’d like to at least acknowledge your presence in my path for that brief window of time when you pass by my life and speak a kind word.

And if I say something in passing to you with a smile on my face and a song in my heart please be assured that I have no intent to affront or offend you.

O sure, I could walk around oblivious to the humanity around me and just be about my merry (or do you say happy) way.

But I like to go out of the way to compliment a cashier on a job well done.

Or acknowledge a service employee for being attentive to the customer.

Or telling an elderly lady at church that she looks rather special that day.

I like to encourage youth to share their thoughts and pursue their dreams.

I tell the drive thru girl at the burger joint that she’s great cause she ALWAYS remembers that special sauce that my wife likes.

And when that little old lady can’t reach the soda pop on the top row, I grab it for her.

After so many years of being on this earth, I’ve decided this.

It just might be a better place if we all do our best to try and make everyone we encounter smile.

Let me tell you, as easy as that mission may seem, it’s harder that you may think.

So, as Mick Jagger (or do you call him Father Christmas) sang, “May the Good Lord Shine a Light on you. Make every song you sing, your fav-o-rite tune.”

Wedwand wishes you a splendid Holiday Season and invites you to share kindness in whatever you celebrate.

