003
Hey! how ya doing??

What’s happening, man? Good to see you.

What’s up? Long time no see. Looking good.

I am the master of those sorts of greetings when I run into people on the street, in the store, at the fest, where ever. These are people I know. This is what I say to them. Can you tell me what’s missing??

Hint:

1) ONE MAN is anagram for this.

Still wondering?

2) The title of a song by the band American contains what is missing.

Tick tock tick tock. One more clue.

3) What is Clint Eastwood’s character in the movie, “The Good The Bad and the Ugly.”

Give up yet?

Ding ding ding. The answer is, “no name.”

Yes, sadly, that’s what is missing in my greetings. Names. No names are given in the afore mentioned greetings.

Why? Because I an terrible at remembering people’s names.

Doesn’t mean I don’t love you. Doesn’t mean I don’t remember you. Doesn’t mean I don’t know anything about your life. I do. I can carry on a whole conversation with you about your kids, your job, your hobbies, your interests, but I can’t always remember your name.
Sorry.

Now, I know some people who are outstanding at that. Bless their souls, and I’d mention them, but right now, I can’t remember their names.

I need one of those guys that follows politicians around at fund raisers and whispers in their ear, “Mick Jagger, lead singer Rolling Stones. British.”

Then, instead of saying, “Hey skinny British guy, what up”, I could say, “Hey, Mick. When’s the next Stones tour? I can’t get no satisfaction either. Glad to see you made it over the pond to visit us.”

That would be great.

Oddly, I remember places. In college I’d walk around campus saying, “Keokuk, let’s grab lunch.” “Burlington, didja study for that test?” “Cedar Rapids, wanna shoot some hoops later?”

Names however, elude me.

That’s why, when I win the Pulitzer Prize for excellence in blogging, I will thank nobody by name, because, well I can’t remember anybody’s name. So don’t feel slighted if I forget you, but I will be giving you a shout out when I say, “Thank you, America. Thank you, World. And just in case, I’d like to thank all you Extraterrestrials.

And, I’d like to thank you all for reading this week, whatever your name is.

What’s your Name

FOOTNOTE: The answer to the hints are:

1) ONE MAN = No Name
2) “A Horse With No Name” by America reached number one on the US Billboard charts in 1971 or 9172. Oddly research revealed the song was number one in Finland too.

3) Clint Eastwood is billed as “Blondie” for the movie, but also referred to as “The man with no name.”

