020
Every now and again, I turn on the oldies station and hear a song whose lyrics mystified me back in the day and it takes me back to a place in time.

This morning, that song was a tune that reached number 5 in 1974 on the Billboard Hot 100 list by a band called Redbone. If you can name another smash hit by them, I will retract calling them a One-Hit Wonder band.

Waiting. Waiting. I know what you’re thinking, I can’t even remember the one hit.

The name of the song is, “Come and Get Your Love.” This song starts with the mystical lyric, “Hey (hey) What’s the matter with your feel right?”

When I was in school, we all had to wait outside the cafeteria doors before lunch, then the doors opened, the hot dogs were smelling good and the speakers played this song loudly and the cooks all danced and sang:

“Come and get your lunch, Come and get your lunch. Come and get your lunch now.”

OK. I made that up, but so far, my “feel right” is doing OK, In case you forgot the one hit and wonder what is was, here it is:

Redbone was inducted into the Native American Music Association Hall of Fame in 2008.

Then, on the way home from work, I heard mystifying song number two which then inspired this week’s WedWand theme. People, play the radio in the car every now and then. Punch the buttons until you hit a song you recall. In this instant gratification world in which we live in, sometimes the surprise blast from the past is better than knowing what you will hear.

It’s so much more fun to live in the button pushing ball of confusion world of FM radio than programming your song of choice. Really, it is. OK, sometimes not, I agree. Then again, now I’m getting all confused.

Speaking of Ball Of Confusion, In 1970, The Temptations reached number 3 on the charts with the song, “Ball of Confusion.” Although the song was released 44 years ago many of the lyrics remain relevant even today:

Segregation, determination, demonstration,
Integration, aggravation,
Humiliation, obligation to our nation
Ball of Confusion

It also contains the outstanding lyric which may or may not be relevant at all:

“Great Googamooga Can’t you hear me talking to you?”

Now you might thing that Googamooga is a palindrome. It is not. Agoomagoog is not the very same as Googamooga.

Webster defines a palindrome as:

“A word, verse, or sentence (as “Able was I ere I saw Elba”) or a number (as 1881) that reads the same backward or forward.”

Wedwand defines a palindrome as a song named SOS by ABBA.

So, back to Googamooga, here is a vintage clip that is worth 2:13 of your time. Rap on brother. Rap on.

We are indeed living in a ten day run of Palindromic dates in this April, 2014. Today is 4 16 14. Yesterday was 4 15 14, tomorrow is 4 17 14. Happens every day until 4 19 14.

So, catch the symmetry ALL this week.

Wow. By for now.

FOOTNOTE: This week’s cover photo is snow on the lilies in April. Talk about a ball of confusion.

