GE DIGITAL CAMERA

One week until Christmas.

Seems like yesterday it was summer.

The time, she flies, it’s a bummer.

But the holidays are here and so is the cheer.

The Little Boy is a Drummer.

Yeah, that’s terrible, but at least I didn’t rhyme anything with the city Nantucket.  Pa rum pum pum pum. Cymbal crash. Thank you. I’m here every Wednesday JUST to help get you over the hump. Tip your waitress.

I have some random thoughts:

“Over the hill” is a common phrase when someone attains a landmark age.   I’m not sure where “the hill” is and at what age one is over it. However, if a ball is at the top of that hill and it rolls down the hill, it picks up speed as it goes.  Working with that analogy, it stands to reason why the time seems to go faster whenever it is that we reach THAT side of that hill.

I have yet to find a satisfactory definition or origin of the idiom phrase, “In A Pickle.”   Looks like the camel is “in a pickle” on this pursuit.

A friend of mine told me a sad tale about his windshield being shattered in an accident.  You know you are a Rolling Stones fan when the first thing you think when you hear the word “Shattered” is “Shadoobie.”   I simply replied, “Shattered, shattered?”

Sorry Celine Dion, Josh Groban, Johnny Mathis and all the others, Jon Secada still does the best version of “O Holy Night.”

Only the Bing Crosby version of “Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas” should be played.   (The lyric “Through the years, we all will be together if the fates allow …” always brings a silent tear to my eye for those with whom I am no longer together.)

Has any artist recently written a decent ORIGINAL Christmas song in the last 50 years or so?    The saying goes, “Imitation is the best form of flattery.”  While many contemporary artists have Christmas albums, they often revert to the classics of a former generation for the content.  Not many have an original song worthy of being copied.

Okay apologies to Paul McCartney, John Lennon, and The Eagles.  And so this is Christmas and you are simply having a Wonderful Christmastime and Please Come Home, but other than that, let me know if I missed an original.

Next Wednesday is Christmas.  If you read Wedwand then, I will truly be impressed and if you do,  I promise it will be reverent to the occasion.

In the meantime, keep shopping. And if you can’t find the perfect gift in the stores, look for a perfect gift in your life.  Some times, you can’t put the good things under a tree.

