GE DIGITAL CAMERA
Gonna share a meatloaf secret here. When you try this recipe, you’re gonna say, “Wow, why didn’t I think of that?” Well, you took the words right out of my mouth.

So hold tight. Here we go.

Now traditional meatloaf is a ground beef and a ground pork combo.

How bout this? White Meatloaf. O God. Stop right there! I don’t mean it like that. I am talking about the meat, not people. In fact, this dish can be enjoyed by all people.

Before I tell ya how to cook it, you gotta know right now …you’re gonna love it, gonna love it forever.

Since I tried this, there’s only one meatloaf I will ever love, and it was so many years ago when I came up with this recipe.

Here’s what happened. I had a taste for meatloaf. Though it was cold and lonely in the deep dark night, I could see paradise in the refrigerator lights. But I only had some ground chicken and ground turkey. Usin’ whatcha got baby.

To the turkey I said, “I want you.” To the chicken I said, “I need you.” Guess what? I found a way to love them. Here’s what happened:

Basic White Meatloaf Recipe:

1 pound ground chicken
1 pound ground turkey (sometimes they are 20 oz. pkgs. That’s OK use it.)
1/2 Cup bread crumbs or even up to a cup you decide that’s right.
1 egg or 2 if ya got 2
Combine the ingredients and shape into a football sized loaf.
If ya got a loaf pan, use it, if not use a casserole dish.
Bake in a 350 heated oven for an hour or so. Add 15 minutes if you need to.

We’re gonna go all the way tonight
We’re gonna go all the way

So recently, I decided to enhance it.

Paradise White Meatloaf Recipe:

Finely dicing the veges is the key. You might need that extra egg. For the Paradise version, add to the above basic recipe, as follows::

1/4 cup green pepper finely chopped
1/4 cup pepper finely chopped
1/4 cup yellow pepper finely chopped
(If you only have green and red, now don’t be sad, cause two out of three ain’t bad, Use 3/4 cups or so, any color peppers.)
1/2 cup onion finely chopped
1 stalk celery (do I need to say it again, finely chopped”)

Sauté these like a bat out of hell in olive, vegetable or canola oil (anything but motor oil) until the onions are translucent and the peppers and celery soft. Do not let them burn, I would do anything for a recipe, but I won’t do that. Let the mix cool.

Add to the basic meat mix listed above:

The cooled finely chopped vegetables
1/2 envelope onion soup mix. (Yeah sorry, purists, it gives it flavor if ya got it, if not, no thing)
Italian seasoning (if you need to measure, 6 good shakes, shaker top ON)
Garlic powder (half as many shakes as above, same rule for the shaker top)
Salt and pepper to taste

Give it 75 minutes in a 350 oven (or cook until done)

Do this, and you will go all the way tonight when you try it. If you only get to third base, add some white wine to the recipe. Save some for consumption.

PS: The leftovers make a great sammich.

