GE DIGITAL CAMERA

The Magic Cart

I just had one of the best grocery store experiences in my life, and it didn’t involve coupons. I had a “perfect” shopping cart. It didn’t squeak. It didn’t rattle. It didn’t even have the front wheel that spins around like a compass point desperately looking for the north.

There were no foreign objects stuck ominously to the wheels, no baby drool on the handle, no remnants of advertising paper anywhere to be found. It even seemed to flash me a shiny smile from the rack.☺

There was one problem. I was there for milk and eggs, maybe some juice, nothing more. But heck, why waste this perfect moment in time.

As I spun around the corner, guiding this well-oiled machine, I zig zagged it’s wheels like an Indy driver. She was a smooth operator.

I was then compelled to fill it, to test its “load capacity.” Silently humming, it glided through the aisles of the store and the more it glided, the more I filled it. It felt good. I tossed in canned items, salad dressings, peanut butter and 2 liter bottles of pop (or do you call it soda?) The weight of extra load did not affect its performance one iota.

I added some deli items too just so I could stand in line waiting for my number to be called, hoping those with a higher number would admire my ride.

I bought more. Threw a couple of cases of bottled water in the bottom to see how it would handle with the extra weight, and boy, did it purr. (Random side note, 40 years ago people would have laughed at the concept of water being sold in a bottle. Today, we embrace it.)

Front wheel drive in full gear now, I headed for the produce aisle, to get something fresh for the wire clad wagon. Smoothly rolling along I filled it with heaping portions of fruits and vegetables.

I even went to the meat department and added some organic, farm raised, grain fed items and placed them on top so others would be impressed with her passengers.

But like all things fun, my cart’s time was done. It was time to check out. Of course, the line was short. There would be no long good-bye’s.

Filled to the brim, the sleek silver machine sat silently in the checkout aisle as the clerk rang up over $200.00 worth of groceries. I winced, but did not regret the experience as I took the cart o plenty on the final journey to my car. (Take note grocery store owners of America. I urge you to stock more carts like this)

Somewhat dejectedly, I slowly loaded my car with the groceries, careful not to let this prime cart get a nick from a neighboring car.

Rather than leave it standing there alone in the parking lot, or in a cold, cruel, corral, I respectfully wheeled it all the way to the front door and left it in the rack wondering if anyone else would appreciate their shopping experience with the Magic Cart as I had.

O damn, I forgot the milk and eggs.

